You know you're (insert nationality here) when...

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous' started by Roka4csi, Oct 5, 2006.

1. talkingtocactus

talkingtocactus Coroner

oh believe me there are a lot of us but we're marginalised by the establishment:scream::scream:

i refuse to sing the national anthem, it makes me sick - i always sing this instead: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/God_Save_the_Queen_(Sex_Pistols_song)

2. Roka4csi

Roka4csi Coroner

:lol: It sounded like an anthem too until I realized it's being sarcastic.

I seriously thought people loved the royals in England, makes me feel stupid considering I studied political science for 3 years.

3. talkingtocactus

talkingtocactus Coroner

i think a lot of people do but (and this may just be my own opinion) it tends to be people who just swallow very propagandist headlines (the tabloid press is almost entirely rabidly monarchist) without really looking in any detail at facts, and who somehow still think having an unelected head of state who creams millions off the state budget every year is prestigious, because they attract tourists. if you look at the figures, the unoccupied royal palaces attract many more tourists than the ones with relics still living in them! they're just a pointless waste of money and the day we abolish them will be the best day in this country's history. vive la revolution!

4. Roka4csi

Roka4csi Coroner

But if you look at the bright side, you do have free healthcare. Sometimes elected officials are as much dictators as those we did not choose. Refer to Lebanon and the US governments for example.

5. talkingtocactus

talkingtocactus Coroner

definitely the us! best democracy in the world?! :guffaw::guffaw::guffaw:

the royals have very little power which i suppose is something but in a way it makes it worse - if they have no power, why keep them? either have them and use them or don't and get rid of them properly. off with their heads! (ok, i doubt even i'm that extreme).