Episode 8x16 - "LA" ***CONTAINS SPOILERS***

Discussion in 'CSI: Miami' started by FieldMouse, Feb 27, 2010.

1. electra

electra Pathologist

I still think it all goes down to acting skills.With a storyline like that where Jesse wife was killed,I am suppoused to feel sorry for him.Instead I was annoyed with the way he treated Anna and handled the whole situation.Storylines and Miami tend to be crazy but a good actor can make the best of it.

Last edited: Mar 6, 2010
  2. silentdisco

silentdisco Police Officer

I agree with absolutely everything you just said. I admit, I have no experience in law enforcement, so I don't know what the appropriate protocol would be, but as an avid viewer of the show, I don't see anything terribly bad about the way Calleigh handled the situation. She was firm when she needed to be (like telling Jesse to open the trunk), but at the same time refused to jump to the conclusion that Jesse was a Bad Guy™.

3. silentdisco

Completely agreed.

I admit, sometimes the character of Horatio really annoys me. However, the way he is portrayed is successful at getting me to empathize with him, even when he oversteps boundaries. I can simultaneously feel annoyed with his actions (as in, "Oh, H, that really wasn't a good idea. You know better than that!"), but empathize with his feelings and reasoning (more like "Yeah, you shouldn't have done that, but I can see where you're coming from").

For example, I found the whole Julia/Ron Saris baby momma drama saga kind of annoying, but I definitely got the sense that Horatio truly wanted to protect his son Kyle, and Kyle's mother. He cared about both of them.

On the other hand, when Jesse started following Anna, under the guise of "protecting" her from the guy who killed his wife, I got no sense that he gave a rat's patooty about her. To me, his actions came across as controlling, not from a place of concern for her. No matter how I tried to look at it, I just couldn't really feel sympathy for him.