Organ Donation

Calihan

Captain
What's your opinion about organ donation. Are you already a donor or will you donate your organs after you die. What's a good way to increase the number of donors.

Let's discuss it.

I think that organ donation is extremely important! I'm 16 now and have wanted to be an organ donor since I was 7. Since I'm not technically old enough to sign a donor card, I've made it clear to my parents that I want to donate my organs. I figure, once you're dead, what use do you have for your organs? Even when I'm alive, if I find out that I'm a match to someone in need, I'd donate organs that you have two of (kidneys, lungs) or regenerate (part of your liver - it can return back to its full size in two months!). As far as increasing the number of donors, I'd say that awareness is key. I think too many useful organs go to waste simply because people never think about signing a donor card.

That's my take - the day I turn 18, I'll be signing a donor card, and I'm encouraging my sister to do the same.

Oh yeah, I've been planning to have that card. I mean, I don't have use for my organs after I die so why not to give those to someone who needs. Tho I think my lungs are not the best ones but others are in wonderful shape.

I am amazed that they don't campagne more. Just read from website that 18% of Finns have organ donation card.