Science in the news

wibble

Corpse
Hey guys, in response to TBonz's suggestions/overhaul of the Misc forum I thought I'd start this thread as I thought it would be interesting to keep up with developing science in the real world and learn some stuff about what's going on out there :D I'm not really into Chemistry or Physics, so if people who are would like to post news articles (or put links in to them), then please do, as I'm a Biologist so I'll probably just be putting up Biology articles :) I also want every to be welcome here so please join in if you find anything interesting! :cool:

Just as a note, there is a thread in the Forensic Science forum on this board if people find news articles specific to that field (just to avoid confusion and prevent this thread from being locked). Thanks ;)

The first one I'm going to post is about how the DNA of prehistoric cave bears has now been sequnced, and hopefully this will lead to us being able to find out more about the Neandertals (our nearest relatives). I think this is quite a breakthrough as ancient DNA is very difficult to recover and is usually very degraded. This article reminds me of Jurassic Park :) Hope you all enjoy it too - I'm going to post two links, one to a more detailed version and one to a more condensed version from the New Scientist website.

Detailed

Condensed

Let me know what you all think! ;)

Good deal...this will be a good thread for general science areas...thanks for mentioning the specific forensic science threads and I want to encourage anyone to post interesting articles and whatnot in there to open up discussions, as well as interesting articles and the like in this thread for discussions!

Thanks, wibble1 and I'm looking forward to this thread!! :) :D

urgh, I thought I just posted in here. Obviously not. :mad: :D