Do you believe in God?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous' started by Calihan, Apr 10, 2008.

?

Do you believe in God and how do you live?

1. I don't believe in God at all.

35.2%
  2. I believe in God and live relgiously.

20.4%
  3. I believe in God, don't live religiously but still ama good person.

44.4%
  1. talkingtocactus

talkingtocactus Coroner

^ i studied that epicurean proposition in my philosophy degree, i love it :) why do great philosophers always manage to make complex things sound so beautifully natural?

2. luf100

luf100 Coroner

Pretty much exactly this.

I wasn't raised religiously, my parents never forced (I can't think of any other word to say) me into any religion, I never went to church a day in my life. (I used to go to a youth group actually, so its not like I've never had any experience with this stuff.)

I'm not really sure if never being raised religiously has anything to do with my decision, but it probably does. In fact, I don't even know what most of my families beliefs are. I know my mom believes in God, but she doesn't go to church and isn't very religious. I have no idea about my brother, my dad, my grandparents, or anyone.

Honestly, I'm just not able to believe in a God, or anything like that (Hell, Heaven, the Devil, etc.) To me, it seems too fairy-tale like. I'm not trying to offend anyone, but to me believing in God is like believing I'm going to meet this prince charming and fall in love and have a happily ever after. But life just isn't like that. You know, I'd like to believe there's a higher power out there or something after death (I'm scared as crap of death), but I can't. I can't put that much faith in something when I have no idea if it's really there or not. I have to rely on myself. It's hard to explain. :lol:

3. Ginnna

Ginnna Lab Technician