Petersen: He's Out There

CSI Files

Captain
It's time to move on.<p><I>CSI: Crime Scene Investigation</I>'s leading man, <font color=yellow>William Petersen</font> (Gil Grissom), will be saying goodbye to the series in the next episode, <A class="link" HREF="http://www.csifiles.com/episodes/csi/season9/one_to_go.shtml">"One to Go"</a>. The actor made the decision to leave so he could return to his first love: the theater. "The reason I'm leaving is because I'm afraid I'm becoming too comfortable," Petersen told <A class="link" HREF="http://www.ew.com/ew/0,,,00.html">Entertainment Weekly</a>. "It's <I>CSI</I> — they pay me a lot of money, and I don't have to work very hard anymore. I've got it all figured out. And I just realized, God, as an artist, I'm going to atrophy. You do anything for nine years, it becomes somewhat rote. I didn't want to be on the show because they were paying me money and I liked the money. I didn't want to be on the show because it saved me from having to go look for other jobs. Just didn't want it. It was too safe for me at this point. So I needed to try and break that, and the way to do that, for me, is the theater."<p>Petersen said he wouldn't miss the show or the character he's leaving behind. "It was a complete life for me that's reached its end, and it's reached it in the right way, I think. So I won't miss Grissom. And I hope that the audience won't miss him either," he explained. It is no secret that Petersen's coworkers are going to miss the actor and his presence in the series. "I couldn't stop crying," revealed costar <font color=yellow>Marg Helgenberger</font> (Catherine Willows). "It was hard. I'm having a hard time now, because, you know, we had a great nine years together. It's just over. It's the end of an era."<p><font color=yellow>Paul Guilfoyle</font> (Jim Brass) agreed. "I have such a fondness for Billy, but the show will go on. It has to," the actor explained. To keep things rolling, <I>CSI</I> cast <font color=yellow>L