Confessions of an Entemologist - A Post GD GSR Fic

Discussion in 'Fan Fiction' started by butterflylove206, Feb 7, 2007.

1. butterflylove206

butterflylove206 Prime Suspect

I've never written any fanfic before and quite honestly I might have some glaring conflict with the canon in here but if you think I have any legs to stand on please say so and I can get on to the fun parts. The way I planned this is to have sortof "the way it all began" and then end up filling in some "after the credits rolled" for the stuff right now. thanks guys!
    ------------------------------------------------
    Grissom watched as Nick was loaded into the ambulance, his face showing none of the myriad of emotions assaulting his brain. Most were the expected emotions from a person who had just watched someone they cared about be buried alive and attacked by fire ants, but also something he couldn’t name. In his quiet reverie, Shel Silverstien’s ‘Whatif” poem seemed to be taking on a whole new feeling. What if that had been me? Would I have gotten out of there? What if it had been me and they didn’t find me in time? What if I died and never even tried to be with her. As if on cue, the very woman his thoughts had led him to spoke behind him.
    “God, I’m glad we got him.” Sara said, almost to herself. He turned to face her but didn’t speak, still lost inside the maze of his thoughts. She too appeared absorbed in her own thoughts for a moment then spoke, directly to him this time. “It could have been any of us too. I think… I think we take so much for granted, especially with the work we do.” She shook her head, “Sorry, I’m getting all, well…” she smiled, “I’m over-talking again I guess.” The reference to their past conversation jolted Grissom, bringing him back to a time like many others where he hadn’t acted in the best interest of his relationship with the woman he so badly wanted to be able to show his love.