GIMP Help Thread

Discussion in 'Fan Art' started by Dragonfly, Jun 8, 2009.

1. Dragonfly

Dragonfly ~Queen of Sarcasm~ Moderator

This is a thread for anyone who uses GIMP.

In here, you can discuss the program, how-to's, ask questions, etc.

All of the normal board and forum rules apply in here. If you're not sure what they are, check out the Fan Art Forum Guide.

Enjoy!

2. miamifan08

miamifan08 Police Officer

Hey all!

I'm a little new to the GIMP and I wanna start making fun avvies, siggies and wallpapers! :)

Can anyone help me get started. :)

3. Hannah06_95

Hannah06_95 Police Officer

Help Needed! I'm trying to make brushes and i can't seem to get it to work! First of all i downloaded the brushs pack from deviat art then i opened it up on gimp and tried to save it as a brush i did manage to do it (although not sure how!) but when i tried to use the brush i had the image but it was in a box of a white background...now normally i know you would set it so that the background was transparent but as i downloaded this image i don't know how to do this! Thanks in advance! :)

4. Florry86

Florry86 CSI Level Three

Ok I had to download GIMP since my PS crashed and I can't seem to find a good way to fix it. But I'm really having a hard time with it since I was used to PS 7.

Now, I really don't know how to use a texture with this program. With PS it was so simple thanks to the layers.
    I've been looking for any kind of help on LJ, but all the tutorials I found expect you already know how to paste the texture on the icon you want as they just explain to you how to set the layer.
    Well I don't even know how to paste the textre on my image :confused:. So, I would be really really glad and happy to know how to do it. Is there anyone who can help me? :(

5. shazza_018

shazza_018 A Daily Anthem Moderator